Danehill Stakes News

Trainer Mark Riley has been thrilled with the condition of talented sprinter Of The Brave in the lead-up to the 2015 Spring Carnival, and has revealed the rising three-year-old will be set on a course towards the Group 1 Coolmore Stud Stakes (1200m) which will likely include a stop in…

Danehill Stakes

The Danehill Stakes is one of the quality Group 2 races conducted by the Victoria Racing Club (VRC) as part of the annual Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

Held at Australia’s premier racecourse, Flemington, the Group 2 Danehill Stakes is run in early September and is one of the first spring features at the track. Danehill Stakes

Special Offer:
Get up to $500 in Bonus Bet* from Ladbrokes

Open to three-year-olds and run under set weights plus penalties, the $250,000 Danehill Stakes is a 1200m sprint down the straight at Flemington attracting a quality field of runners every year, many resuming racing after a spell.

The Danehill Stakes meeting is also one of the first betting opportunities for punters gearing up for the spring racing season and gives fans a first-up look at some of the premier spring contenders.

Four other group status races are held on the same day as the Danehill Stakes, with the meeting’s marquee race being the Group 2 Makybe Diva Stakes (1600m).

The other headline events on the card are the Group 2 Lets Elope Stakes (1400m) and the Group 3 Bobbie Lewis Quality (1200m).

The Danehill Stakes is an excellent early lead-up race to some of the spring’s more prestigious three-year-old races including the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas (1600m) in early October.


First run in 1982 the Danehill Stakes has undergone a number of name changes due to sponsorship.

Once called the Rory’s Jester Stakes after the 1985 winner Rory’s Jester, the event has also been registered as The Hilton On The Park, Crown Casino Stakes and the L’Oreal Plate.

Fiesta Star was the inaugural Danehill Stakes winner and other quality horses that have taken out the race include Gin Rhythm (1989), Falvelon (1999), Fastnet Rock (2004) and Black Caviar (2009).

The race record for the Danehill Stakes was set in 1996 by Armidale who won in 1:8.1.

In 2009 the Danehill Stakes was elevated from its Group 3 status to a Group 2 race to attract a higher pedigree of gallopers.

Past Winners

Below is a list of the most recent winners of the Danehill Stakes.




2009 BLACK CAVIAR 1:9.9
2008 AICHI 1:10.4
2007 TAN TAT DE LAGO 1:10.9
2006 THE ONE 1:10.4
2005 JET SPUR 1:9.5
2004 FASTNET ROCK 1:9.2
2003 ABDULLAH 1:12
2002 PLANCHET 1:8.7
2001 CHONGTONG 1:9
2000 ST PETERSBURG 1:10.4